Peer Name Resolution Protocol (PNRPsvc) Service Defaults in Windows 8

Enables serverless peer name resolution over the Internet using the Peer Name Resolution Protocol (PNRP). If disabled, some peer-to-peer and collaborative applications, such as Remote Assistance, may not function.

Default Settings

Startup type:Manual
Display name:Peer Name Resolution Protocol
Service name:PNRPsvc
Service type:share
Error control:normal
Object:NT AUTHORITY\LocalService
Path:%SystemRoot%\System32\svchost.exe -k LocalServicePeerNet
File:%SystemRoot%\system32\pnrpsvc.dll
Registry key:HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\PNRPsvc
Privileges:
  • SeChangeNotifyPrivilege
  • SeCreateGlobalPrivilege
  • SeImpersonatePrivilege

Default Behavior

Peer Name Resolution Protocol is a Win32 service. In Windows 8 it will not be started until the user starts it. When the Peer Name Resolution Protocol service is started, it runs as NT AUTHORITY\LocalService in a process of svchost.exe, sharing it with other services. If Peer Name Resolution Protocol fails to start, the error details are added to Windows 8 error log. When the operating system startup is complete, the user is being notified that the PNRPsvc service hasn't been started.

Dependencies

Peer Name Resolution Protocol can't start, if the Peer Networking Identity Manager service is disabled or not available.

All the services listed below will not start if Peer Name Resolution Protocol is disabled:

Restore Default Startup Configuration for Peer Name Resolution Protocol

Before you begin doing this, make sure that all the services on which Peer Name Resolution Protocol depends are configured by default and function properly. See the list of dependencies above.

1. Run the Command Prompt as an administrator.

2. Copy the command below, paste it into the command window and press ENTER:

sc config PNRPsvc start= demand

3. Close the command window and restart the computer.

The PNRPsvc service is using the pnrpsvc.dll file that is located in the %WinDir%\system32 folder. If the file is corrupted or deleted, you can put it back in there.